The First Day of School Italian Style

The first day of classes always brings the jitters, the excitement of a new environment, new subject material, new professors. This time, however, it’s loads different. Like “I am attending classes in Italy” different. (It still blows my mind that I am living here, I’ll elaborate in a minute.) I walked with my one of my roommates, Kelley, to one of the buildings that we have, Palazzo Rucellai, which was built in the 15th century. We attended our art history class: Renaissance Art of Florence. Talk about heart eyes to the max! Going over the syllabus, our professor told us that we are going to be attending lectures at Palazzo Rucellai on Mondays, but on Wednesdays we are going to be “on site”. On site, what on earth is she talking about? I gave Kelley a quizzical look and she raised her eyebrows back at me. It means that we are going to be having lectures in front of the works we are studying, meaning museums, cathedrals, churches and piazzas. Later in the day, I walked to the other building, Palazzo Bargagli off of the Arno River for my Italian class. This was the one I was most nervous for because English is my professors second language. My professor is actual wonderfully patient and comical, his name is Carlo. (That’s a thing in Europe, you call your professors by their first name?)

Fast forward a few hours, I’m back in my apartment, sitting on my bed placing papers in folders and organizing my books. The sun is going down and my windows are open for some fresh air and the street below me is bustling, as usual. All of the sudden I hear an accordion and realize there is a man playing “Time to Say Goodbye” by Andrea Bocelli and Sarah Brightman. I stand with my elbows on the railing of my room and gaze out of the window at the bell tower with the sun hitting it beautifully. I hear Italian from the locals down on the street and the music floating in with the breeze, all with this fabulous view from the apartment I get to call mine for the next four months. I couldn’t help but smile and think that this is why I am here. Enjoying another culture that has engulfed half of my family is now such an important part of my life right now and I need to make the most of it.

However, I should make the most of everything, I shouldn’t forget to step back and smell the espresso once in a while. I think a lot of people forget that when they travel, they all want to take photos and move on, but that becomes the need to impress people with where they had been. In reality, I want to be here and take tons of photos and videos, but enjoy it, embrace it and remember it. I can’t take this [expensive] experience for granted. That I must remember. My roommate Victoria lives by the mantra that life is too short to just survive; I should remember that too.

Day 6, check.

Ciao!

One thought on “The First Day of School Italian Style

Leave a Reply

