Today is the Day!

With all of the anxiety of traveling, like checking a bag, security, finding the gate and making sure that the gate does not change while you are there, it does not truly give you time to miss anyone quite yet. As I sit at my almost empty gate at Los Angeles International, I am as ready as I’ll ever be for the adventure ahead of me. I have all of the essentials, or at least I hope I do! It just seems so close I can taste it, I’ve waited so long for this moment that I find myself more excited than nervous and normally it would be the other way around. Checking a bag was so simple, they were the nicest I have ever seen at an airport. Then going through security was almost easier than a domestic flight. It was weird going through and having it be so simple and so organized.

Passport and carry-on in hand I made my way to my gate. Of course, I am about 3 hours early so the flight ahead of mine still has not boarded. I grab my stuff and make my way over to a Starbucks and go explore. As I stroll along the glossy floors of the Tom Bradley International Terminal, I am surrounded by different accents, dialects and languages alike. My ears are exploding with different sounds and languages I didn’t even know existed. I look around and there are small stores bearing the names Hermés, Michael Kors, Chanel, Gucci, and Bulgari to name a few.

I find airports to be so interesting, especially the international terminal. So many people from so many walks of life all in one place for the same purpose: air travel. At my gate, there are a few people, one of them is an older gentleman reading an Italian newspaper.

Well I guess this is it! Goodbye United States of America, bonjourno Italia!

I would just like to thank everyone who has helped me get to this spot in my life. If someone were to ask me 5 years ago if I would be going to school across the country, let alone studying abroad in Europe I would have laughed and blatantly said no. But here I am, 20 years old with my life ahead of me and the greatest adventure of my life just about to start. So to family, friends and everyone in between, thank you from the bottom of my heart.

0 days left.

Ciao for now.

One thought on “Today is the Day!

  1. andre5249 says:

    My auntie Cha Chi used this toast for special occasions and I can’t think of anything else that I would use to send you off on your new Adventure! So everyone raise your glasses high and help me toast my best friend: Aríba, Abajo, Al Frente, Atrás Salud mí amiga mejor! Siempre te amo!

    Without wax,
    André

    Like

Leave a Reply

